Your friends in the Caribbean

Political structure



By the form of political order Cuba is the Socialistic Republic of parliamentary type. This is the only socialistic state in the Western Hemisphere. Absolute power in the parliament belongs only to one party – Communist party of Cuba.

Executive power belongs to the President of National Council (head of the state) who simultaneously is the general secretary of Central Committee (CC) of the Cuban Communist party, as well as to chairman of Council of Ministers (head of the government) – Second Secretary of Central Committee respectively.


The government consists of National Council and the Council of Ministers. The government forms the parliament of republic which is called as the National Assembly. It also appoints the head of the National Council. Thus, the highest agency of State power in Cuba is the National Assembly.

Administratively the republic is divided into 16 provinces which comprise 169 municipalities. One of the municipalities, Juventud, is immediately controlled by central authority, and the other municipalities are controlled by local administrative structures.


Nowadays, the President of Cuba is Raúl Castro, brother of Fidel Castro who in 2008 resigned the leadership after extended illness.